About the Hall of Fame

The BC Innovators Hall of Fame recognizes the key role of innovation to BC’s economy and the leaders that have left a legacy on this province, enriching our technology and innovation ecosystem and building a stronger BC economy.  Presented in partnership with the Government of British Columbia.

In this 30th anniversary year for BC Tech, we are thrilled to establish the Innovators Hall of Fame in partnership with the Government of British Columbia.

About this Award

This award recognizes the key role of innovation to BC’s economy and the leaders that have left a legacy on this province, enriching our technology and innovation ecosystem and building a stronger BC economy. Nominations are invited for new inductees in 2023.

Who Should be Nominated?

Nominees in this category must be:

  • BC Based leaders who have left a positive legacy
  • Champions of innovation, whether in tech or in other sectors

Evaluation Criteria – please complete the following:

1. Background: (100 words)*

Tell us briefly about the nominee, their career and some key accomplishments.

2. Nomination Pitch: (250 words)*

Tell us in your own words why you this individual exemplifies what the BC Innovators Hall of Fame represents.

3. Who else is supporting this nomination?*

Include the names and email addresses for anyone else who is supporting this nomination (max 4).
Note that there is no limit to how many nominations you can make, but each must be made in a separate submission.

Past winners of the Bill Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award and BC Tech Person of the Year Award will be inducted into the BC Innovators Hall of fame in this inaugural year:

  • Greg Aasen
  • Mark Betteridge
  • Jeff Booth
  • Michael Brown
  • Ward Chapin
  • Klaus Deering
  • David Demers
  • Norman Durieux
  • Gordon English
  • Haig Farris
  • Norm Francis
  • Roy Henderson
  • Judi Hess
  • Ryan Holmes
  • Hugh Ray
  • Moe Kermani
  • Paul Lee
  • Julia Levy
  • John MacDonald
  • Gordon MacFarlane
  • Greg Malpass
  • Amos Michelson
  • Jack Newton
  • Greg Peet
  • Shahrzad Rafati
  • Jonathan Rhone
  • Don Rix
  • Warren Roy
  • Laurie Schultz
  • John Seminario
  • Gerri Sinclair
  • Ken Spencer
  • Keith Spencer
  • Jim Spilsbury
  • Morgan Sturdy
  • David Sutcliffe
  • Shafin Tejani
  • James Topham
  • Ralph Turfus
  • Mossadiq Umedaly
  • Alan Winter
Photo of John MacDonald (1936-2019) John MacDonald (1936-2019)

With decades of experience across the energy, aerospace and photovoltaic industries, John MacDonald co-founded space specialists MDA (MacDonald Dettwiler and Associates) in 1969. Over his long career he served as an advisor to Canadian, US and other governments internationally on science, technology, trade policy and industrial policy. In November of 1988, MacDonald was named an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Photo of Gordon MacFarlane (1925-2018) Gordon MacFarlane (1925-2018)

After coming back from WWII where he piloted Anson and Lancaster bomber planes, Gordon MacFarlane attended the Electrical Engineering program at UBC. He joined BC Tel, now Telus, in 1950, and following a stint at Automatic Electric in Brockville, Ontario returned to BC Tel in 1977 as chairman and CEO. In addition, MacFarlane helped start Microtel Pacific Research (MPR), which was responsible for the creation and success of many leading tech companies in the province.

Photo of Greg Malpass Greg Malpass

Once the only employee of Traction on Demand for the first four years, founder and CEO Greg Malpass has grown it to become North America’s largest dedicated Salesforce consulting and application development firm. Possessing a reputation as a technology evangelist, his clients rely on his deep expertise in building processes with CRM and marketing automation. Previous roles include various sales and marketing positions at BusinessObjects and Cossette agency.

Photo of Don Mattrick Don Mattrick

Starting out as an independent video game developer, Don Mattrick and Jeff Sember co-founded Distinctive Software in their parents’ basements in 1982 making racing and sports titles for the Amiga, Apple II, Commodore 64 and PC DOS. In 1991, Mattrick led a stock-based merger with Electronic Arts and eventually went on to be become president of EA Worldwide Studios and grew EA’s market capitalization from 100M to 23B.…

Photo of Amos Michelson Amos Michelson

Amos Michelson held the title of CEO at digital printing hardware and software makers Creo from 1995 until 2005 when Eastman Kodak assumed control. During the decade-long period he grew the staff to over 4,000 people, and revenue to $650 million USD annually. Prior to Creo Michelson was at the reigns of Opal, a semiconductor equipment company, and Optrotech, a manufacturer of optical and imaging systems.