CODE 2015 Winning Teams

Content provided by the Government of Canada

The open data community came together in Toronto to celebrate the teamwork, innovation, and drive of the CODE 2015 participants (visit our CODE page if you’d like to learn more). The Grand Finale capped off an exciting month: from the high-energy appathon itself, to testing the 125 submissions, to the intense Pitch Day where the top 15 teams presented their work to a panel of judges.

Judges have deliberated. And the CODE 2015 Winners are…

CODE 2015 Grand Champion ($15,000) and Youth Employment Category Prize ($5,000):

Team Niew Labs with Career Path by Niew Labs app. The application is aimed at helping Canadian youth discover, research, and choose future career paths. Team consists of Jigdel Kuyee, Rob McDiarmid, Daniil Shevelev and Lev Perelman, of Toronto and Vaughan, ON.

Business Opportunities Category Prize ($5,000):

Team Farm Canada with Farm Canada app. Farm Canada contains the historical data and commodity prices that agricultural producers need to make informed decisions and keep current. Team consists of Adam Michaleski and Steven Michaleski, of Calgary, AB and Winnipeg, MB.

Healthy Living Category Prize ($5,000):

Team Neighbourfood with Neighbourfood app. Empowers Canadians to make healthy food choices as part of a healthy lifestyle, while encouraging them to engage with their local community. Team consists of Neil Gentleman, Amelia Hardjasa, Fergus Kung, and Ivan Zverev, of Vancouver, BC.

Best Student Team Prize ($5,000):

Team SFU Data Crunchers with High School Down, Where Next? app. Helps Canadians find out how much a post-secondary degree will cost. Team consists of Jonathan Bhaskar, Bradley Ellert, Jasneet Sabharwal, and Maryam Siahbani of Burnaby and Coquitlam, BC.

And finally, the Fan Favourite prize, chosen by you through public voting and social media shares ($5,000):

Team Bear Paws with COFY app: COFY – Career Opportunities for Youth – aims at providing youths with an insight to employment statistics and projections. This Richmond, BC team consists of Ian Fong, Adrian Dorrius, Jonathan Lee, and David Baik.

Congratulations to our CODE 2015 winners, and thank you to all participants! We hope to see you again next year.

To read the full article online, click here.