BCTIA Members Elect Board of Directors for 2015-2016

Association welcomes five new directors and announces Jill Tipping as Chairperson

VANCOUVER, BC (October 28, 2015) – The BC Technology Industry Association (BCTIA) is pleased to announce the election of its 2015-2016 Board of Directors, which took place during the 22nd Annual General Meeting of the Society. Immediately following the election, the BCTIA announced that Jill Tipping (VP Operations & CFO, Solar Business, Schneider Electric) would assume the role of Chairperson of the Board. Tipping succeeds Kirsten Sutton (VP & Managing Director, SAP Labs Canada), who has served as Chair for the previous two years and will remain a member of the board, as past-Chair.

“Schneider Electric is proud to be a strong part of BC’s tech sector with annual R&D investments of $50M and over 700 people employed throughout BC,” said Tipping. “BC’s Tech sector has seen fantastic growth in recent years and now we have over 9,000 companies and 86,000 people contributing nearly 8% of provincial GDP. As Chair, I look forward to supporting and accelerating BCTIA’s mission to catapult BC’s Tech sector to the next level.”

In addition to this announcement, the BCTIA Board of Directors welcomed five new members for the coming year. Each new board member represents notable local tech companies and industry supporters, including Electronic Arts Inc. (EA), Hootsuite, TELUS, Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP, and the 2015 Technology Impact Award Winner for Adoption of Technology, Traction on Demand.

“This past year has been one of incredible growth for both our organization and our industry, and we’re extremely grateful for the leadership and guidance of Kirsten Sutton as Board Chair,” said Bill Tam, BCTIA President & CEO. “We’re also proud to welcome a Board of Directors made up of such a diverse and accomplished group of people, representing the inspiration, innovation and energy that we work so hard to foster within our community. Our Directors are dedicated to building the tech industry in British Columbia, and each of them is passionate about the BCTIA’s core mission: To make BC the best place to grow a tech company.”

The BCTIA 2015-2016 Board of Directors:

  • Jill Tipping (Chair), VP Operations & CFO, Solar Business, Schneider Electric
  • Kirsten Sutton (Past Chair), VP & Managing Director, SAP Labs Canada & SAP Global Executive Briefing Centres
  • Kari Lockhart (Treasurer), Partner, Assurance & Advisory, Deloitte
  • Phil Bates, EVP, Operations & Application Development, TELUS
  • Paul Geyer, CEO, LightIntegra Technologies
  • David Hargreaves, VP, Surveillance & Intelligence, MDA
  • Donovan Jones, President & CEO, CounterPath Corporation
  • Jonathan (Jon) Lutz, VP, Corporate Financial Planning & Strategy, Electronic Arts Inc.
  • Hector Mackay-Dunn, Senior Partner, Farris Vaughan Wills & Murphy LLP
  • Greg Malpass, CEO & Founder, Traction on Demand
  • Andrew Reid, Founder & President, Corporate Innovation, Vision Critical
  • Laurie Schultz, President & CEO, ACL
  • Rich Simons, CEO, Proactive Strategies Inc.
  • Matt Switzer, VP Corporate Development, Hootsuite Media Inc.

The BCTIA also said farewell to five board members, thanking them for their years of service and continued support of the industry. Leaving the BCTIA Board of Directors this year is Mark Betteridge, CEO, Discovery Parks, Scott Edmonds, Lui Petrollini, Partner, Ernst & Young LLP, and Bill Sayles, EVP Business Transformation, TELUS.


Click here for more information on the 2015-2016 Board of Directors.