Technology Impact Awards

Celebrating the achievements of BC's tech industry.

Founded in 1994 by the BC Tech Association, the Technology Impact Awards (TIAs) celebrate the successes of our industry and the companies, people and innovation that continue to put British Columbia on the map. The TIAs are the longest-running and largest technology award program in BC, presented in June in front of an audience of more than 1,000 technology leaders and industry supporters.

Each year, applications are received from across the province from tech companies of all sizes, representing every sector. With ten award categories, ranging from Most Promising Startup to Community Engagement, there's something for every company to apply for.

Congratulations to all #2017TIAs Winners! 

Applications and Nominations

Applications for the 2018 TIAs will open in January. Stay tuned!

Award Criteria

Do you have what it takes to win? Apply to find out!

The Technology Impact Awards honour companies and individuals in ten categories divided amongst three distinct groups: Technology, People and Company. To learn more about each of the awards, click on the links below.

Adoption of Technology | Sponsored by IBM
2017: Copperleaf & BC Government | 2016: ResponseTek & Westminster Savings Credit Union | 2015: Traction on Demand & Canlan Ice Sports 

Excellence in Product Innovation | Sponsored by MDA
2017: Corvus Energy | 2016: Freightera Logistics | 2015: iQmetrix 

Most Promising Pre-Commercial Technology | Sponsored by Harper Grey LLP
2017: ARTMS Products | 2016: Ronin8 Technologies | 2015: Axine Water Technologies 

Most Promising Startup | Sponsored by Microsoft
2017: Semios | 2016: Aspect Biosystems | 2015: Optigo Networks 

Emerging Company of the Year | Sponsored by PwC
2017: Trulioo | 2016: Copperleaf Technologies | 2015: Coolede Lighting 

Company of the Year | Sponsored by EY
2017: STEMCELL Technologies | 2016: Global Relay | 2015: Sierra Wireless 

Community Engagement | Sponsored by SAP
2017: Allocadia | 2016: Left | 2015: Left 

Team of the Year | Sponsored by Finning Digital
2017: Clio | 2016: Traction on Demand | 2015: ACL |

Person of the Year | Sponsored by Korn Ferry
2017: Shafin Tejani, Victory Square Labs | 2016: Sharzhad Rafati, BBTV | 2015: Jeff Booth, BuildDirect 

Bill Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award | Sponsored by BCSC
2017: Dr. Allan Winter | 2016: Keith Spencer | 2011: Mark Betteridge 

People's Choice Award | Sponsored by ACL
2016: Buyatab

TIAs Partners

The Technology Impact Awards are made possible thanks to our incredible partners.

2017 Platinum Partners: CIBC and TELUS 
2017 Gold Partners: KPMGSierra Wireless and Freeman Audio Visual

To see a complete list of TIAs Partners, click here.

If you are interested in a TIAs Partnership, email

Tomorrow's Titans Program

Paying it forward to BC's startup community

The TIAs are a very special evening, bringing together the best and brightest from our local tech community. Unfortunately, not all companies are able to attend this incredible event, especially early-stage tech companies, or as we like to think of them, "the titans of tomorrow". To help with this, we've developed the Tomorrow's Titans Partner Program, and invite established companies (both tech and professional services) to host early-stage entrepreneurs at the Technology Impact Awards, helping to expand their networks and connect them to the local tech community.

"It was amazing to get a chance to attend the TIAs through this unique Titans program. We were inspired by the stories and speeches of the award winners and the event was immediately very useful for all the great connections we created. It's great to see successful BC companies support the startups in their midst!"
-- Dr. Alexandra T. Greenhill, Co-founder & CEO, myBestHelper

To learn more, or to become a partner, email

To see a full list of Tomorrow's Titans Partners, click here.

Winner's Circle

Recognizing excellence for more than 20 years.

The TIAs have a rich history of celebrating cutting-edge technology, and the companies, people and innovation that put British Columbia on the map. Past winners include BC tech giants like MDA, Sierra Wireless, PMC (now Microsemi), D-Wave, Layer7 (now CA Technologies), Avigilon, Global Relay and more.

To see a complete list of winners from 1994 till now, visit the Winner's Circle.